Fall Term 2019

Jul. 26, Friday

  • Beginning class lists available on AccessPlus

Aug. 6, Tuesday

  • University bills with Fall 2019 tuition and fees charges available on AccessPlus.

Aug. 20, Tuesday

  • Fee Payment deadline for fall. First payment (minimum due) or payment in full on AccessPlus.

Aug. 23, Friday

  • Last Day to initiate registration in person without a late registration fee in the Registrar's Student Scheduling Office (10 Enrollment Services Center) by 5 p.m. Registration may be initiated using AccessPlus until 11 p.m. on Aug. 25, without a late registration fee.

Aug. 25, Sunday

  • Last day to initiate registration through AccessPlus without a late registration fee. Registration must be completed by 11 p.m.
  • Last day to cancel registration on AccessPlus for fall to avoid tuition assessment. All courses must be dropped on AccessPlus by 11 p.m.

Aug. 26, Monday

  • Class work begins.

Aug. 30, Friday

  • Last day to initiate registration through AccessPlus. A "late registration fee" applies.
  • Last day to process most schedule changes or to add/drop a course without signatures of instructor and adviser (full-semester courses and first half-semester courses). See the tuition adjustment schedule for financial deadlines and the Schedule of Classes for exceptions. 
  • Last day to drop full-semester or first half-semester courses without the drop appearing on the permanent record or counting toward the limit of dropped courses.
  • Last day to process a schedule change for fall through AccessPlus registration.
  • Last day to change a full semester course from audit to credit basis.

Aug. 31, Saturday

  • Last day to return textbooks for refund to University Book Store. Exclusions apply. See ISU Bookstore for details.

Sep. 2, Monday

  • University holiday—offices closed, classes recessed.

Sep. 4, Wednesday

  • Graduate College: Last day for graduate students to submit applications for graduations for Fall 2019 through AccessPlus.

Sep. 6, Friday

  • Last day to receive a tuition and fee adjustment for full-semester courses when dropping below full-time status. No refunds for full-semester courses after day 10 of the semester.
  • Last day to elect to audit a course for fall. The instructor of the course must approve an audit.

Sep. 10, Tuesday

  • Distribute original course offerings for Summer 2020.

Sep. 20, Friday

  • Fee payment deadline for fall semester. Second payment (minimum due) on AccessPlus.

Sep. 23, Monday

  • Departments should begin approval process for new Summer 2020 experimental courses.

Sep. 25, Wednesday

  • Last day to change degree audit information for fall semester.

Sep. 27, Friday

  • Last day to add/drop a first half-semester course without extenuating circumstances.
  • Last day to change a first half-semester course to or from Pass/Not Pass.
  • Last day to file a Designation of Repeated Course form for a first half-semester course that is not an automatic designated repeat.

Oct. 1, Tuesday

  • Final deadline for submitting approved, new experimental course announcement forms (with all signatures) for Spring 2020 in CIMX.

Oct. 5, Saturday

Oct. 6, Sunday

Oct. 7, Monday

  • Registration Authorization Numbers for colleges are available on AccessPlus and ADIN for Spring 2020.
  • Advising period for Spring 2020 registration begins.

Oct. 14, Monday

  • Distribute to departments original course offerings for Fall 2020.

Oct. 18, Friday

  • Midterm grade reports due from all departments on Canvas and AccessPlus by 2:15 PM.

Oct. 18, Friday

  • First half-semester courses end.

Oct. 20, Sunday

  • Fee payment deadline for fall. Final payment due on AccessPlus.

Oct. 21, Monday

  • Departments should begin approval process for new Fall 2020 experimental courses.
  • Last day for departments to make Spring 2020 course offering changes before registration begins (Room Scheduling must approve course limits of 35 and greater).
  • Second half-semester courses begin.

Oct. 23, Wednesday

  • Registration period for Spring 2020 begins.
  • First day of assigned Spring 2020 registration dates for students in the College of Veterinary Medicine and students in the Graduate College. Hours for AccessPlus registration are 7 a.m. to 11 p.m., Monday—Saturday.
  • Seniors graduating Spring 2020 should submit a Graduation Application to the Registrar’s Graduation Office after registering for final course work. Submit via AccessPlus (student tab, graduation, application).

Oct. 24, Thursday

  • First day of assigned Spring 2020 registration dates for students projected as seniors. Hours for AccessPlus registration are 7 a.m. to 11 p.m., Monday—Saturday.

Oct. 25, Friday

  • Last day to process most schedule changes for a second half-semester course without signatures of instructor and adviser for Fall 2020. See the tuition adjustment schedule for financial deadlines.
  • Last day to drop a second half-semester course without the drop appearing on the permanent record or counting toward the limit of dropped courses for Fall 2020.

Oct. 30, Wednesday

  • Summer 2020 course offerings due from departments to Dean’s Office, Registrar, and Room Scheduling.

Oct. 31, Thursday

  • First day of assigned Spring 2020 registration dates for students projected as juniors. Hours for AccessPlus registration are 7 a.m. to 11 p.m., Monday—Saturday, and most Sundays.

Nov. 1, Friday

  • Last day to add/drop full-semester courses or withdraw without extenuating circumstances.
  • Last day to file a Designation of Repeated Course form for a full-semester or second half-semester course that is not an automatic designated repeat.

Nov. 4, Monday

  • Preliminary room assignments for Spring 2020 distributed to departments from Room Scheduling.

Nov. 6, Wednesday

  • Graduate College: last day for graduate students to cancel graduation through AccessPlus without being assessed a nonrefundable graduation fee.
  • Graduate College: Last day for Final Oral Exam Request to be received by Graduate College to avoid cancellation of Fall 2019 graduation.

Nov. 7, Thursday

  • First day of assigned Spring 2020 registration dates for students projected as sophomores. Hours for AccessPlus registration are 7 a.m. to 11 p.m., Monday— Saturday.

Nov. 14, Thursday

  • First day of assigned Spring 2020 registration dates for students continuing as freshmen. Hours for AccessPlus registration are 7 a.m. to 11 p.m., Monday— Saturday.

Nov. 20, Wednesday

  • Preliminary room assignments for Spring 2020, with changes, due back to Room Scheduling from departments by 4:00 PM.

Nov. 22, Friday

  • Last day to add/drop a second half-semester course without extenuating circumstances.
  • Last day to change a second half-semester course to or from Pass/Not Pass.
  • Undergraduate graduation applications for Spring 2020 are due. Submit via AccessPlus (student tab, graduation, application)

Nov. 25, Monday

  • Graduate College: last day for final oral examinations. Open your account in ProQuest and enter the name of your thesis/dissertation.

Nov. 25, Monday - Nov. 29, Friday

  • 2019 Fall break, classes recessed.

Nov. 28, Thursday - Nov. 29, Friday

  • University holidays—offices closed.

Dec. 2, Monday

  • Deadline for Spring 2020 cancellations due to low enrollment (by noon).
  • Fall 2020 course offerings due in Dean’s Office, Registrar, and Room Scheduling (by noon).

Dec. 3, Tuesday

  • Graduate College: Last day to submit signed Graduate Student Approval Form

Dec. 5, Thursday

  • Graduate College: last day to upload electronic thesis/dissertation to ProQuest for Thesis Office review.

Dec. 7, Saturday

  • Beginning class lists available on AccessPlus for Spring 2020.
  • Spring 2020 room assignments for courses displayed in the online Schedule of Classes
  • Spring 2020 course enrollment tally by college and year available electronically by department.

Dec. 12, Thursday

  • End of term textbook buyback begins at University Bookstore.

Dec. 16, Monday - Dec. 19, Thursday

  • Fall 2019 Final Examinations.

Dec. 16, Monday

  • Last day for end of term rental book return without penalty to the University Bookstore

Dec. 19, Thursday

  • Summer 2020 Schedule of Classes proof copy due in Registrar’s Office, with or without changes. Dec. 20, Friday Fall semester ends.

Dec. 20, Friday

  • Graduate College: Last day to have your POSC approved by Graduate College for Spring 2020 graduation.

Dec. 21, Saturday

  • Undergraduate Commencement: www.graduation.iastate.edu


Dec. 24, Tuesday - Dec. 25, Wednesday

  • University holidays—offices closed.

Dec. 26, Thursday

  • Final grades due on Canvas and AccessPlus by 2:15 PM.

Dec. 27, Friday

  • Grade reports available on AccessPlus.